When Sep 14, 2021 at 7:00pm Sep 18, 2021 at 5:30pm EDT
This event has already taken place.

Are you Prepared to Run Hard and Fast?


Run for It! is a non-partisan training and coaching program dedicated to supporting Asian Canadian participation and representation across Canada at all levels of elected public office including federal, provincial, municipal and school board trustees.

With condensed sessions designed with a practical and best practice approach, candidates running for elected office as well as key leaders involved in campaigns will be enabled to hit the ground running. Each session module provides essential tools and critical development to build confidence in all aspects of driving and positioning an election campaign for winning results.

Who should apply for the Run for It! Program? Asian Canadians who are running for elected office, campaign leaders and allies (campaign workers) who are supporting their candidates to win.

There are some subsidized spaces available. Please contact [email protected] for more information.


Event Session Dates and Descriptions

 

1. Public Narrative: Storytelling: Tuesday September 14th, 4:00-6:30 pm PT, 5:00-7:30 pm MT, 7:00-9:30 pm ET 

Develop personal narratives: (Why am I running? What is my core value that drives me? What do I want to accomplish? Who are my electorates and what are their stories and needs?).This will lead candidates towards self awareness and understanding - Through this process participants will develop a deeper understanding of the role they want to play in politics - running for office, or running campaigns to elect candidates they believe in.

Purpose: Make space for potential candidates to do self-inquiry, explore the personal, emotional, systemic realities of running for office as a BIPOC candidate. How to build and sustain a personal profile and build community capital and coalition. How to bring family and friends together. Furthermore, translating support to actual votes.

2. Campaign Planning and Communication: Thursday September 16th, 4:00-6:30 pm PT, 5:00-7:30 pm MT, 7:00-9:30 pm ET

How to recruit volunteers, deep canvass, deal with racial incidence, get ready for public meetings, candidate meetings, developing internal and external communication skills, and dealing with the media. 

Purpose: How to form a concrete plan of action.

3. Technical Campaigning: Saturday September 18th, 9:30-12:00 pm PT, 10:30-1:00 pm MT, 12:30-3:00 pm ET

Teach potential campaign candidates how to build a campaign along with the necessary big picture and practical skills (digital campaigning, campaign team with diverse skills, fundraising, voter contact strategies, strategy and tactics, advance vote, and election day vote).

Purpose: Participants will learn tactical skills such as how to run an effective and legal campaign as well as how to build a political message. 

4. Network of Peers and Mentors: Saturday September 18th, 12:00-2:30 pm PT, 1:00-3:30 pm MT, 3:00-5:30 pm ET

Focusing on diplomatic etiquette, how to network, and how to ensure self care and the creation of a support circle.

Purpose: Participants will be connected to a network of past and present politicians, campaign workers, and other change-makers with the intention of building an accountability/support network for potential candidates. 


Sponsoring Agencies

ACCT Foundation, Teresa Woo-Paw

ALPHA Education, Gen-Ling Chang

NAAAP Toronto,  Ben Hum

The Justin Poy Agency, Justin Poy

Filipinos Rising, Cesar Cala and Marichu Antonio

Institute for Change Leaders, Olivia Chow

 ALPHA Education

NAAAP Toronto      iQIYI North America Appoints the Justin Poy Agency as Exclusive Media Sales  Partner for the Canadian Market, The Canadian Business Journal

   Institute for Change Leaders

Join the ICL Alumni Association Executive Committee!

Joining the executive is a great way to continue developing your organizing and leadership skills.

Layton Legacy Project Marks Tenth Anniversary of Jack Layton’s Passing

August 22, 2021 will mark the tenth anniversary of NDP leader Jack Layton’s untimely death. Jack believed change is possible when we all come together - so that’s exactly what we’re doing.

 

LGBTQ+ Activism from Uganda to Canada

On April 27th, 2021, the Institute for Change Leaders hosted Christopher Nkambwe—queer activist and founder of the African Centre for Refugees in Ontario—Canada and journalist Andrea Houston for a discussion on LGBTQ+ activism from Uganda to Canada

Get Trained
Contact Us

The Institute for Change Leaders is brought to you by the Faculty of Community Services at X University.

Ryerson University